What about our Home?

It makes me sad that my first article for this year is about how ignorant people can be. Let me elaborate.

Yesterday, I have planned a very beautiful artist date for myself, and I was so excited to spend it in nature in one of the first parks that I visited here, in Dublin, five years ago. The park was so beautiful and quiet, birds where chirping and I could hear the river flowing but, everywhere I was looking I could see litter, different kinds of plastic, empty bear cans, cigarette buds and empty packs, empty food wrapping and so on.

What is happening to us, people? Are we doing the same in our homes and gardens, littering in very place we are living in? Let’s imagine for a moment that we would throw the things that we don’t need anymore in our neighbour’s home or garden? What would happen? We wouldn’t get away with this for sure because one, it is illegal to trespass someones property and two, that neighbour would speak up for himself. We wouldn’t dare littering in someone else’s property. So why do we do it in public places, nature and parks?

Why do we do this to our animal and nature neighbours? Because they can’t speak up for themselves and make us feel embarrassed or afraid of legal consequences?

It makes me sad in this 21st century, where we have everything under our noses, literally anything, from food at our discretion to super technology, we still behave like savages. We forgot our common sense and to respect what is around us, especially this Planet that after all is what keeps us alive, gives us the oxygen that we need for breathing, the food on our tables and the essential water for surviving. May I remind you that without any of these, we wouldn’t be able to survive more than a few minutes? Please check this articles as a reminder: 1 and 2.

Let’s stop taking everything for granted and start respecting this Planet more before it is too late. Let’s keep it simple for now, throw your rubbish in the bin.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.